You may bring your own gun or rent a gun for a nominal fee.
The amount of ammunition required varies per class. The License to Carry class requires 50 rounds for the qualification. The Basic Pistol classes generally require approximately 50 rounds and the more advanced classes may require 100-300 rounds.
Acquiring your License to Carry enables you to carry the gun on your person in public.
You may be exempt from certain application and examination fees for occupational licenses in the private security profession. Active Duty Military Service Member: a person who is currently (at the time of application) serving on full-time active duty in the armed forces of the United States or Texas military forces, as defined by Texas Government Code §437.001, or similar military service of another state. This does not include basic training or annual training. You must be a resident of Texas for 6 months before receiving your license to carry. You can still take the class, but it will not activate until those 6 months are over.
Yes, you may qualify with any caliber of gun which may differ from the gun you actually carry. i.e. many people prefer to qualify with a .22 caliber pistol (easier to shoot) but would not use that for a personal defensive handgun.
Yes, there is a 25-question multiple choice and true/false test at the end of the course.
Upon completion of your course, you will apply to the DPS for your license and submit your LTC-100 form as a PDF and schedule an appointment for your fingerprints.
Yes, you may complete your LTC online through our recommended provider and then contact me to schedule the shooting proficiency demonstration.
Yes you may take the online LTC and then contact me to schedule the shooting proficiency demonstration at Buck & Doe’s Mercantile.
Texas Concealed Handgun License Eligibility requirements for a Texas Concealed Handgun License are: No Felony Convictions Ever No Class A or B Misdemeanors five years before applying with the State of Texas
Buck & Doe’s Mercantile in San Antonio, TX.
Yes, Buck & Doe’s Mercantile has a state-of-the-art indoor shooting range open to the public for $22.50/per hour.
The License to Carry class includes instruction and range fee. The basic pistol classes include instruction, certificate and textbook.
Depending on the class you are taking, you will need a handgun, ammunition, eye/ear protection and perhaps a snack/water.